Regions in Somalia

Somalia is made up of 18 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Somalia. Information on all primary administrative regions in Somalia.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Somalia alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Somalia

There are 18 regions in Somalia in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Somalia
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Awdal Gobolka Awdal1.673,263--
Bay Gobolka Bay2.1,467,345Baidoa Baidoa129,839
Hiiraan Gobolka Hiiraan3.2,500,000Beledweyne Beledweyne55,410
Bari Gobolka Bari4.720,000Bosaso Bosaso74,287
Middle Juba Gobolka Jubbada Dhexe5.360,000Bu'aale Bu’aale-
Togdheer Gobolka Togdheer6.350,000Burao Burao99,270
Sanaag Gobolka Sanaag7.544,000Ceerigaabo Ceerigaabo33,853
Galguduud Gobolka Galguduud8.800,000Dhuusamarreeb Dhuusamarreeb9,000
Mudug Gobolka Mudug9.733,964Gaalkacyo Gaalkacyo61,200
Gedo Gobolka Gedo10.508,000Garbahaarrey Garbahaarrey12,652
Nugaal Gobolka Nugaal11.516,000Garoowe Garoowe57,300
Woqooyi Galbeed Gobolka Woqooyi Galbeed12.1,240,000Hargeysa Hargeysa477,876
Middle Shabele Gobolka Shabeellaha Dhexe13.516,000Jawhar Jawhar47,086
Lower Juba Gobolka Jubbada Hoose14.267,000Kismayo Kismayo234,852
Sool Gobolka Sool15.327,428Laascaanood Laascaanood60,100
Lower Shabeelle Gobolka Shabeellaha Hoose16.1,200,000Marka Marka230,100
Banaadir Gobolka Banaadir17.1,650,000Mogadishu Mogadishu2,587,183
Bakool Gobolka Bakool18.370,000Xuddur Xuddur12,500