Regions in Somalia

Somalia is made up of 18 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Somalia. Information on all primary administrative regions in Somalia.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Somalia alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Somalia

There are 18 regions in Somalia in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Somalia
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Hiiraan Gobolka Hiiraan1.2,500,000Beledweyne Beledweyne55,410
Banaadir Gobolka Banaadir2.1,650,000Mogadishu Mogadishu2,587,183
Bay Gobolka Bay3.1,467,345Baidoa Baidoa129,839
Woqooyi Galbeed Gobolka Woqooyi Galbeed4.1,240,000Hargeysa Hargeysa477,876
Lower Shabeelle Gobolka Shabeellaha Hoose5.1,200,000Marka Marka230,100
Galguduud Gobolka Galguduud6.800,000Dhuusamarreeb Dhuusamarreeb9,000
Mudug Gobolka Mudug7.733,964Gaalkacyo Gaalkacyo61,200
Bari Gobolka Bari8.720,000Bosaso Bosaso74,287
Awdal Gobolka Awdal9.673,263--
Sanaag Gobolka Sanaag10.544,000Ceerigaabo Ceerigaabo33,853
Middle Shabele Gobolka Shabeellaha Dhexe11.516,000Jawhar Jawhar47,086
Nugaal Gobolka Nugaal12.516,000Garoowe Garoowe57,300
Gedo Gobolka Gedo13.508,000Garbahaarrey Garbahaarrey12,652
Bakool Gobolka Bakool14.370,000Xuddur Xuddur12,500
Middle Juba Gobolka Jubbada Dhexe15.360,000Bu'aale Bu’aale-
Togdheer Gobolka Togdheer16.350,000Burao Burao99,270
Sool Gobolka Sool17.327,428Laascaanood Laascaanood60,100
Lower Juba Gobolka Jubbada Hoose18.267,000Kismayo Kismayo234,852