Regions in Somalia

Somalia is made up of 18 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Somalia. Information on all primary administrative regions in Somalia.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Somalia alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Somalia

There are 18 regions in Somalia in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Somalia
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Awdal Gobolka Awdal1.673,263--
Bakool Gobolka Bakool2.370,000Xuddur Xuddur12,500
Banaadir Gobolka Banaadir3.1,650,000Mogadishu Mogadishu2,587,183
Bari Gobolka Bari4.720,000Bosaso Bosaso74,287
Bay Gobolka Bay5.1,467,345Baidoa Baidoa129,839
Galguduud Gobolka Galguduud6.800,000Dhuusamarreeb Dhuusamarreeb9,000
Gedo Gobolka Gedo7.508,000Garbahaarrey Garbahaarrey12,652
Hiiraan Gobolka Hiiraan8.2,500,000Beledweyne Beledweyne55,410
Lower Juba Gobolka Jubbada Hoose9.267,000Kismayo Kismayo234,852
Lower Shabeelle Gobolka Shabeellaha Hoose10.1,200,000Marka Marka230,100
Middle Juba Gobolka Jubbada Dhexe11.360,000Bu'aale Bu’aale-
Middle Shabele Gobolka Shabeellaha Dhexe12.516,000Jawhar Jawhar47,086
Mudug Gobolka Mudug13.733,964Gaalkacyo Gaalkacyo61,200
Nugaal Gobolka Nugaal14.516,000Garoowe Garoowe57,300
Sanaag Gobolka Sanaag15.544,000Ceerigaabo Ceerigaabo33,853
Sool Gobolka Sool16.327,428Laascaanood Laascaanood60,100
Togdheer Gobolka Togdheer17.350,000Burao Burao99,270
Woqooyi Galbeed Gobolka Woqooyi Galbeed18.1,240,000Hargeysa Hargeysa477,876